Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Monster Energy Supercross going into Round 10

Moving into the season, tensions were high in the 450 class due to the number of talented riders healed up and ready to go for the 2013 Supercross season.

Round 1 Anaheim California:
Photo by Supercross.com
Millsaps picked up the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award with Trey Canard, and his teammate Justin Barcia, following in second and third. Villopoto crashed and dropped several positions on lap 8 before re-entering the race. Barcia went down in a turn and dropped back a few positions.
Photo by chronicmx.com
After 16 laps, Canard finally made his move on Millsaps to take the lead. As the race was come down to the last lap, Millsaps made a last-ditch effort by flying through the whoops to overtake the lead and win the race. Canard finished second and Dungey finished third.

Round 2 Phoenix Arizona:
Pro rookie, Justin Barcia, took the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award with Davi Millsaps and Chad Reed behind him. Ryan Villopoto spun out and dropped back from fourth to eighth place. Trey Canard passed Reed for third place on Lap 11 and then passed Millsaps for second place on Lap 14.Villopoto finished second and Millsaps finished third.

Round 3 Anaheim California:
To start off the main event, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer, took the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award. Canard took the lead on the first lap after passing Barcia and then Weimer. Barcia cased a triple which ended his race. Villopoto quickly found himself in second place behind Canard. Villopoto made an aggressive move on Canard on lap 5 which allowed him to take the lead. Villopoto extended his lead and won the race with Canard and Reed to round out the podium.

Round 4 Oakland California:
As the gate dropped in round 4 in Oakland, Villopoto took the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award and Justin Brayton and Davi Millsaps followed. Chad Reed, James Stewart and Justin Barcia were caught up in a crash in turn 2. Villopoto extended his lead and won the race. Millsaps finished second and Dungey finished third.
Round 5 Anaheim California:
Justin Brayton took the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award with Mike Alessi behind in second place. Brayton crashed in turn three which allowed Alessi to inherit the lead with Dungey trailing behind. Dungey took the win and became the fourth different winner in five races the 2013 Supercross season. He also moved into second place in the season's point standings.

Round 6 San Diego California:
Millsaps took the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award, with Broc Tickle and Chad Reed behind him. Reed pressured Millsaps for the lead for several laps but lost traction and went down in a turn. Barcia inherited second place behind Millsaps. Millsaps took the win with Barcia taking second and Dungey taking third.
Round 7 Arlington Texas:
Davi Millsaps took the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award again for round 7. Unfortunately Villopoto quickly took over the lead. Reed also made a move on Millsaps and moved into the second position. Villopoto took off and won the race with Millsaps in second and Dungey in third.
Round 8 Atlanta Georgia:
James Stewart took the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award and never looked back. Villopoto was in second behind Stewart but couldn't make a pass. Millsaps started mid-pack and worked his way up to third place. Stewart was on fire and led all 20 laps to take the win with Villopoto and Millsaps rounding out the podium.

Round 9 St. Louis Missouri:
Mike Alessi took the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award with Justin Barcia back in the number-two position and James Stewart in the third position. Stewart quickly moved into the second position. A few turns later, Stewart moved into the lead. The race was stopped due to a red flag on lap three, and the race had to be re-started. Villopoto was docked a few positions. Villopoto made his way into first place and never looked back. Stewart ended up finishing second and Reed finishing third.

Point standings going into round 10 at Daytona:

Davi Millsaps, 189
Ryan Villopoto, 177
Ryan Dungey, 166
Trey Canard, 148
Chad Reed, 147
Justin Barcia, 132
James Stewart, 122
Andrew Short, 113
Justin Brayton, 103
Broc Tickle, 87

No comments:

Post a Comment