Tuesday, June 18, 2013

World Supersport Portimao Results 2013

Yakhnich Motorsport’s Sam Lowes notched his fourth consecutive World Supersport win of 2013 at Portimao, beating out MAHI Team Racing India’s Fabien Foret and his teammate, Kenan Sofuoglu, who took second and third respectively. Lowes’ performance gives him an even more comfortable championship points lead.


Sofuoglu and Lowes were at it from the start, with the Kawasaki ace holding the lead through the opening lap. Foret was in the mix as well and the three riders swapped positions throughout the race in the close battle for the lead. Each competitor enjoyed a stint out front, though in the end it was a back-and-forth toss-up between Lowes and Sofuoglu. The Yamaha ace prevailed on Lap 19 and held steady there to the checkers and Sofuoglu lost position on the final lap to Foret.

Pata Honda World Supersport’s Michael van der Mark scored fourth-place just 1.3 seconds behind Lowes whild PTR Honda’s Sheridan Morais rounded out the top-five. Rivamoto’s Jack Kennedy came across the finish in sixth followed by Team Goeleven’s Andrea Antonelli in seventh and Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres’ Luca Scassa in eighth.

Lowes now has 120 points in the championship and is 39 ahead of both Sofuoglu and Foret, who are mathematically tied in second. Van der Mark is fourth and his teammate, Lorenzo Zanetti, sits fifth.

World Supersport Portimao Results 2013: 
1. Sam Lowes (Yamaha) 
2. Fabien Foret (Kawasaki) 
3. Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki) 
4. Michael van der Mark (Honda) 
5. Sheridan Morais (Honda) 
6. Jack Kennedy (Honda) 
7. Andrea Antonelli (Kawasaki) 
8. Luca Scassa (Kawasaki) 
9. Raffaelle de Rosa (Honda) 
10. Christian Iddon (MV Agusta) 
11. Vladimir Leonov (Yamaha) 
12. Massimo Roccoli (Yamaha) 
13. Alex Baldolini (Suzuki) 
14. Lorenzo Zanetti (Honda) 
15. Luca Marconi (Honda)

World Supersport Championship Points 2013
1. Sam Lowes, 120 
2. Kenan Sofuoglu, 81 
3. Fabien Foret, 81 
4. Michael van der Mark, 62 
5. Lorenzo Zanetti, 55 
6. Luca Scassa, 53 
7. Andrea Antonelli, 46 
8. Jack Kennedy, 44 
9. Roberto Rolfo, 38 
10. Florian Marino, 31 

No comments:

Post a Comment